Volume 11, Issue 4

Symposium 2010

A	\mathbf{R}	П	CI	LES
	· •		\mathbf{L}	

Adapting Energy and Environmental Policy for Climate Change	
Victor B. Flatt6:	55
King Corn: Will the Renewable Fuel Standard Eventually End Corn	
Ethanol's Reign? Melissa Powers60	67
Adapting Water Law to Public Necessity: Reframing Climate Change Adaptation As Emergency Response and Preparedness Robin Kundis Craig	09
Adapting to Climate Change: Transbasin Water Diversions and an Examp from the Missouri River Valley	ole
John H. Davidson7:	57
Note	
Extraterritorial Condemnation for Open Space and Parks: A Look at <i>Town of Telluride v. San Miguel Valley Corp.</i> 's Effect on Colorado and the Mountain West	n
	70

VERMONT JOURNAL OF ENVIRONMENTAL LAW

Vermont Law School P.O. Box 96 South Royalton, Vermont 05068 (802) 831-1024 vjel@vermontlaw.edu

www.vjel.org

Cite to this *Journal* as: 11 VT. J. ENVTL. L. ____ (2010).

The views expressed in this issue are those of the authors and do not represent the position or views of VJEL or Vermont Law School.

Submissions: VJEL welcomes the submission of unsolicited articles, comments, essays, and book reviews. Manuscripts can be submitted to the above addresses

Subscriptions: The current bound volume can be purchased for \$12.95. Law libraries can subscribe through William S. Hein & Co. Others can subscribe by directly contacting VJEL.

Copyright: © Copyright 2010 by Vermont Law School. All rights reserved. Except as otherwise provided, the author of each article in this issue has granted permission for copies of that article to be made for classroom use, provided that: (1) copies are distributed at or below cost; (2) the author and Vermont Journal of Environmental Law are identified on the copied materials; (3) each copy bears the proper notice of copyright; and (4) Vermont Journal of Environmental Law is notified in writing of the use of the material(s).



The *Journal* is published by Western Newspaper Publishing Co. on 100% recycled paper and uses a soy-based ink.

Volume 11, Issue 4

Symposium 2010

2009-2010

EDITORIAL BOARD

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kristin L. Hines

ADMINISTRATIVE EDITOR	SENIOR MANAGIN
Lillian Kortlandt	Andrew I Klin

Andrew J. Klimkowski Senior Articles Editor Joseph Barnett

SENIOR NOTES EDITOR	MANAGING EDITORS	SYMPOSIUM EDITOR
Jessica Scott	Emily Cobb	Genesis Wren Miller
	Ferrell Ryan	

HEAD NOTES EDITORS	WEB EDITOR	EVENTS EDITORS
Markell Ripps	Sam Weaver	Joseph Starnes
Nathaniel Smith		Louisa Yanes
Laurie Wheelock		

ARTICLES EDITORS	PRODUCTION EDITORS	INACTIVE MEMBERS
Kevin Cooke	Daniel D. Burke	Caroline Jelavich
Shannon Sawyer	Christiana Cooley	Ashley Santner
Andrew Schwartz	Noel Hudson	
Abel Russ	Andrew Jacob Rouchka	
	Adam Sherwin	
	Tyler Soleau	

EDITORIAL STAFF

James Abraham	Ashley Hintz	John (Jack) Peters
Scott Allen	Eric Hutchens	Nathan Rectanus
Alice Baker	Kirby Keeton	Jessica Reiss
Addison Barnhardt	Jenna Kennett	Shannon Salembier
Mary Beth Blauser	Melissa Krah	Brian Selogie
Brent Bowden	Dudley Loew	Ian Sinderhoff
Clare Cragan	Brian E.J. Martin	Sarah Stein
Mark H. Foster, Jr.	Heather Marie McCarthy	Laurie Stern
Brandon Gillin	Edalin Michael	Andrew Stone
Crystal Heide	Stephen Nadeau	Peter Vetere

Volume 11, Issue 4

Symposium 2010

FACULTY ADVISORS

Jason J. Czarnezki Professor of Law

Tseming Yang *Professor of Law*

Christine Ryan
Environmental Research Librarian

ADMINISTRATION

Geoffrey B. Shields

President, Dean, and Professor of Law

Gil Kujovich
Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law

Lorraine Atwood *Vice President of Finance and Administration*

Kathleen Hartman
Associate Dean for Enrollment Management

Shirley Jefferson
Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Diversity

Dorothy Behlen Heinrichs
Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Volume 11, Issue 4	Symposium 2010

FACULTY

Susan Apel	Cheryl Hanna	Craig M. Pease
Tracy L. Bach	Hillary M. Hoffmann	Brian Porto
Betsy Baker	Gregory Johnson	Robert Rachlin
Alexander W. Banks	Martha L. Judy	Anthony Renzo
Laurie Beyranevand	Donald Kreis	Giuliana Robertson
Teresa Clemmer	Gil Kujovich	Hilary Robinson
Liz Ryan Cole	Siu Tip Lam	Geoffrey B. Shields
Jason J. Czarnezki	Mark Latham	Linda Smiddy
Johanna Dennis	Reed E. Loder	Gus Speth
Michael Dworkin	Michelle Martinez	Pamela J. Stephens
	Campbell	
Stephen Dycus	James May	Peter Teachout
John Echeverria	Michael McCann	Pamela Vesilind
Arthur C. Edersheim	David Mears	Joan Vogel
Peg Elmer	Philip Meyer	Jeff White
Stephanie Farrior	Marc Mihaly	Stephanie Willbanks
Paul S. Ferber	Janet E. Milne	L. Kinvin Wroth
David B. Firestone	Laura Murphy	Tseming Yang
Jackie A. Gardina	Sean Nolon	Carl A. Yirka
Oliver R. Goodenough	Cathryn C. Nunlist	Maryann Zavez

VISITING FACULTY

Patrick Parenteau

Robert Gagnon	Betsy Schmidt
Robert Sand	Jack Tuholske

John M. Greabe

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Robin Barone	Eric Janson	Sheldon Novick
Gary Brooks	Walter Judge	Larry Novins
Nolan Burkhouse	Julie Kalish	Donald Powers
Jennifer Emens-	Robert Keiner	Linda Purdy
Butler		
John Evers	Peter Kunin	Anna Saxman
Catherine Feeney	Craigh Leonard	Jan Sensenich
Jamie Gallagher	Jingjing Liu	Stefanie Sidortsova
Clara Gimenez	Randy Mayhew	Susanne Terry
Kevin Griffin	Larry Meier	