Volume 11, Issue 2 Winter 2009

ARTICLES

Superfund at 30	
Martha L. Judy & Katherine N. Probst) 1
The Superfund Cost Allocation Liability Conflicts Among the Federal Courts	
Steven Ferrey	19
Dis-Jointed? Several Approaches to Divisibility After <i>Burlington Norther</i> Steve C. Gold	
Restatement for Arranger Liability Under CERCLA: Implications of <i>Burlington Northern</i> for Superfund Jurisprudence	
Alfred R. Light	71

Note

Examining Contractual Models for Transferring Environmental Liability:	
Iow They Work and Where They Are Headed	
Sristin L. Hines	5

VERMONT JOURNAL OF ENVIRONMENTAL LAW Vermont Law School P.O. Box 96 South Royalton, Vermont 05068 (802) 831-1024 vjel@vermontlaw.edu

www.vjel.org

Cite to this Journal as: 11 VT. J. ENVTL. L. (2009).

The views expressed in this issue are those of the authors and do not represent the position or views of VJEL or Vermont Law School.

Submissions: VJEL welcomes the submission of unsolicited articles, comments, essays, and book reviews. Manuscripts can be submitted to the above addresses.

Subscriptions: The current bound volume can be purchased for \$12.95. Law libraries can subscribe through William S. Hein & Co. Others can subscribe by directly contacting VJEL.

Copyright: © Copyright 2009 by Vermont Law School. All rights reserved. Except as otherwise provided, the author of each article in this issue has granted permission for copies of that article to be made for classroom use, provided that: (1) copies are distributed at or below cost; (2) the author and Vermont Journal of Environmental Law are identified on the copied materials; (3) each copy bears the proper notice of copyright; and (4) Vermont Journal of Environmental Law is notified in writing of the use of the material(s).



The Journal is published by Western Newspaper Publishing Co. on 100% recycled paper and uses a soy-based ink.

Volume 11, Issue 2

Winter 2009

2009–2010

EDITORIAL BOARD

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kristin L. Hines

ADMINISTRATIVE EDITOR Lillian Kortlandt SENIOR MANAGING EDITOR Andrew J. Klimkowski SENIOR ARTICLES EDITOR Joseph Barnett

SENIOR NOTES EDITOR Jessica Scott

HEAD NOTES EDITORS Markell Ripps Nathaniel Smith Laurie Wheelock

ARTICLES EDITORS Kevin Cooke Shannon Sawyer Andrew Schwartz Abel Russ MANAGING EDITORS Emily Cobb Ferrell Ryan

> WEB EDITOR Sam Weaver

PRODUCTION EDITORS Daniel D. Burke Christiana Cooley Noel Hudson Andrew Jacob Rouchka Adam Sherwin Tyler Soleau

EDITORIAL STAFF

James Abraham Scott Allen Alice Baker Addison Barnhardt Mary Beth Blauser Brent Bowden Clare Cragan Mark H. Foster, Jr. Brandon Gillin Crystal Heide Ashley Hintz Eric Hutchens Kirby Keeton Jenna Kennett Melissa Krah Dudley Loew Brian E.J. Martin Heather Marie McCarthy Edalin Michael Stephen Nadeau **SYMPOSIUM EDITOR** Genesis Wren Miller

EVENTS EDITORS Joseph Starnes Louisa Yanes

INACTIVE MEMBERS

Caroline Jelavich Ashley Santner

John (Jack) Peters

Nathan Rectanus

Shannon Salembier

Jessica Reiss

Brian Selogie

Ian Sinderhoff

Sarah Stein

Laurie Stern

Peter Vetere

Andrew Stone

Volume 11, Issue 2

Winter 2009

FACULTY ADVISORS

Jason J. Czarnezki Professor of Law

Tseming Yang Professor of Law

Christine Ryan Environmental Research Librarian

ADMINISTRATION

Geoffrey B. Shields President, Dean, and Professor of Law

Gil Kujovich Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law

Lorraine Atwood Vice President of Finance and Administration

Kathleen Hartman Associate Dean for Enrollment Management

Shirley Jefferson Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Diversity

Dorothy Behlen Heinrichs Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Volume 11, Issue 2

Winter 2009

Craig M. Pease

FACULTY

Susan Apel Chervl Hanna Tracy L. Bach Hillary M. Hoffmann Betsy Baker Gregory Johnson Alexander W. Banks Martha L. Judy Laurie Beyranevand Donald Kreis Teresa Clemmer Gil Kujovich Liz Ryan Cole Siu Tip Lam Jason J. Czarnezki Mark Latham Johanna Dennis Reed E. Loder Michael Dworkin Michelle Martinez Campbell Stephen Dycus James May John Echeverria Michael McCann Arthur C. Edersheim David Mears Peg Elmer Philip Meyer **Stephanie Farrior** Marc Mihaly Paul S. Ferber Janet E. Milne David B. Firestone Laura Murphy Jackie A. Gardina Sean Nolon Oliver R. Goodenough Cathryn C. Nunlist John M. Greabe Patrick Parenteau VISITING FACULTY Robert Gagnon Jack Tuholske **ADJUNCT FACULTY**

Brian Porto Robert Rachlin Anthony Renzo Giuliana Robertson Hilary Robinson Geoffrey B. Shields Linda Smiddy Gus Speth Pamela J. Stephens

Peter Teachout Pamela Vesilind Joan Vogel Jeff White Stephanie Willbanks L. Kinvin Wroth Tseming Yang Carl A. Yirka Maryann Zavez

William Rodgers

Bonnie Barnes Robin Barone Emily Bergquist Bud Carrey John Evers Randy Foose

Clara Gimenez Kevin Griffin Shirley Jefferson Matthew Levine Eric Lopez Larry Novins

Jason Okai William Russell Anna Saxman Stefanie Sidortsova Judy Stern