Volume 11, Issue 1

# Fall 2009

# ARTICLES

Reconciling King Coal and Climate Change: A Regulatory Framework for
Carbon Capture and Storage
Will Reisinger, Nolan Moser, Trent A. Dougherty & James D. Madeiros1
Linking a United States Greenhouse Gas Cap-and-Trade System and the European Union's Emissions Trading Scheme
James Chapman
The International Joint Commission's Role in the United States-Canada Transboundary Air Pollution Control Regime: A Century of Experience to Guide the Future
Jason Buhi & Lin Feng107
Local Protection of Natural Resources After JAM Golf: Standards and Standard of Review
Katherine Garvey

# Note

Reducing Transportation Carbon Emissions: The Latent Potential	for New
England	
Genesis Wren Miller	

#### VERMONT JOURNAL OF ENVIRONMENTAL LAW Vermont Law School P.O. Box 96 South Royalton, Vermont 05068 (802) 831-1024 vjel@vermontlaw.edu

#### www.vjel.org

Cite to this *Journal* as: 11 VT. J. ENVTL. L. (2009).

The views expressed in this issue are those of the authors and do not represent the position or views of VJEL or Vermont Law School.

Submissions: VJEL welcomes the submission of unsolicited articles, comments, essays, and book reviews. Manuscripts can be submitted to the above addresses

Subscriptions: The current bound volume can be purchased for \$12.95. Law libraries can subscribe through William S. Hein & Co. Others can subscribe by directly contacting VJEL.

Copyright: © Copyright 2009 by Vermont Law School. All rights reserved. Except as otherwise provided, the author of each article in this issue has granted permission for copies of that article to be made for classroom use, provided that: (1) copies are distributed at or below cost; (2) the author and Vermont Journal of Environmental Law are identified on the copied materials; (3) each copy bears the proper notice of copyright; and (4) Vermont Journal of Environmental Law is notified in writing of the use of the material(s).



The *Journal* is published by Western Newspaper Publishing Co. on 100% recycled paper and uses a soy-based ink.

Volume 11, Issue 1

Fall 2009

# 2009–2010

### **EDITORIAL BOARD**

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Kristin L. Hines

ADMINISTRATIVE EDITOR Lillian Kortlandt SENIOR MANAGING EDITOR Andrew J. Klimkowski SENIOR ARTICLES EDITOR Joseph Barnett

SYMPOSIUM EDITOR

Genesis Wren Miller

SENIOR NOTES EDITOR Jessica Scott

HEAD NOTES EDITORS Markell Ripps Nathaniel Smith Laurie Wheelock

ARTICLES EDITORS Kevin Cooke Shannon Sawyer Andrew Schwartz Abel Russ Emily Cobb Ferrell Ryan

**MANAGING EDITORS** 

WEB EDITOR Sam Weaver **EVENTS EDITORS** 

Joseph Starnes Louisa Yanes

INACTIVE MEMBERS

Caroline Jelavich Ashley Santner

James Abraham Scott Allen Alice Baker Addison Barnhardt Mary Beth Blauser Brent Bowden Clare Cragan Mark H. Foster, Jr. Brandon Gillin Crystal Heide PRODUCTION EDITORS Daniel D. Burke Christiana Cooley Noel Hudson Andrew Jacob Rouchka Adam Sherwin Tyler Soleau

#### **EDITORIAL STAFF**

Ashley Hintz Eric Hutchens Kirby Keeton Jenna Kennett Melissa Krah Dudley Loew Brian E.J. Martin Heather Marie McCarthy Edalin Michael Stephen Nadeau John (Jack) Peters Nathan Rectanus Jessica Reiss Shannon Salembier Brian Selogie Ian Sinderhoff Sarah Stein Laurie Stern Andrew Stone Peter Vetere

Volume 11, Issue 1

Fall 2009

#### FACULTY ADVISORS

Jason J. Czarnezki Professor of Law

Tseming Yang Professor of Law

Christine Ryan Environmental Research Librarian

#### **ADMINISTRATION**

Geoffrey B. Shields President, Dean, and Professor of Law

Gil Kujovich Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law

Lorraine Atwood Vice President of Finance and Administration

Kathleen Hartman Associate Dean for Enrollment Management

Shirley Jefferson Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Diversity

Dorothy Behlen Heinrichs Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Volume 11, Issue 1

John Evers

Randy Foose

#### Fall 2009

#### FACULTY Susan Apel Chervl Hanna Craig M. Pease Tracy L. Bach Hillary M. Hoffmann **Brian Porto** Betsy Baker Gregory Johnson Robert Rachlin Alexander W. Banks Martha L. Judy Anthony Renzo Laurie Beyranevand Donald Kreis Giuliana Robertson Teresa Clemmer Hilary Robinson Gil Kujovich Liz Ryan Cole Siu Tip Lam Geoffrey B. Shields Jason J. Czarnezki Mark Latham Linda Smiddy Johanna Dennis Reed E. Loder Gus Speth Michael Dworkin Michelle Martinez Pamela J. Stephens Campbell Peter Teachout Stephen Dycus James May John Echeverria Michael McCann Pamela Vesilind Arthur C. Edersheim David Mears Joan Vogel Jeff White Peg Elmer Philip Meyer Stephanie Willbanks Stephanie Farrior Marc Mihaly Paul S. Ferber Janet E. Milne L. Kinvin Wroth Tseming Yang David B. Firestone Laura Murphy Jackie A. Gardina Sean Nolon Carl A. Yirka Oliver R. Goodenough Cathryn C. Nunlist Maryann Zavez Patrick Parenteau John M. Greabe VISITING FACULTY Jack Tuholske Robert Gagnon William Rodgers **ADJUNCT FACULTY Bonnie Barnes** Clara Gimenez Jason Okai Robin Barone Kevin Griffin William Russell Shirley Jefferson Anna Saxman **Emily Bergquist Bud** Carrey Matthew Levine Stefanie Sidortsova

Eric Lopez

Larry Novins

Judy Stern